2010 NAACP Awards

View Comments
Keri Hilson & Wyclef Jean @ 41st NAACP Image Awards

Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images for NAACP

This past Friday (Feb. 26) was truly a night to remember for many of today’s biggest entertainers during the 41st Annual NAACP Image Awards, broadcast from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles, CA.

The event, hosted by Anika Noni Rose and Hill Harper, featured an amazing tribute performance to the late [lastfm]Teddy Pendergrass[/lastfm] from heavyhitters [lastfm]John Legend[/lastfm] and [lastfm]The Roots[/lastfm], as well as a Haiti tribute showcase with [lastfm]Keri Hilson[/lastfm], [lastfm]Wyclef Jean[/lastfm], [lastfm]Carlos Santana[/lastfm] and Haitian band [lastfm]Tabou Combo[/lastfm].

In addition, [lastfm]Jill Scott[/lastfm] performed an incredible song titled “Hear My Call” – which you can now download to help benefit the NAACP for Haiti fund.

Big music winners during the ceremony included [lastfm]Maxwell[/lastfm] with Outstanding Male Artist, Keri took home Outstanding New Artist and an absent [lastfm]Mary J. Blige[/lastfm] won the two nominations she was recognized for: Outstanding Female Artist and Outstanding Album. [lastfm]Jay-Z[/lastfm] and [lastfm]Alicia Keys [/lastfm] were surprisingly beat out by the [lastfm]Black Eyed Peas[/lastfm] for Outstanding Duo, while Wyclef was recognized with the Vanguard Award for his humanitarian work in Haiti.

Precious, based on the Novel “Push”, by Sapphire swept the film categories by winning all six awards it was nominated for, including Outstanding Motion Picture. Tyler Perry not only received the NAACP Chairman’s Award but his hit TBS comedy, Tyler Perry’s House Of Payne, raked in four accolades.

Morgan Freeman won Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture for Invictus and Adam Rodriguez from Tyler Perry’s I Can Do Bad All By Myself was awarded with Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture. Other noteworthy trophies were given to Chris Rock‘s Good Hair for Outstanding Documentary and Jada Pinkett Smith‘s performance in Hawthorne won Outstanding Actress.

Full list of the winners for this year’s NAACP Awards >

Celebrities such as Sandra Bullock, Gabourey Sidibe, Jamie Foxx, Lenny Kravitz, Regina King, Taraji P. Henson, Myrlie Evers Williams, Sherri Shepherd, Mo’Nique, Alfre Woodard, Mariah Carey, Mekhi Phifer and Tatyana Ali all appeared during the star-studded ceremony.

Clarence Avant was inducted into the NAACP Hall of Fame and Van Jones received the NAACP President’s Award.

The NAACP Image Awards is the nation’s premier event celebrating the outstanding achievements and performances of people of color in the arts (motion picture, television, recording, and literature), as well as those individuals or groups who promote social justice through their creative endeavors.

[photogallerylink id=38913]

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus